It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:40 am



Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 TIP: QoS (Quality of Service) router setting... 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:51 am
Posts: 3505
Location: Manchester UK
Post TIP: QoS (Quality of Service) router setting...
For any of you that share your internet connection with family/others, and often experience blips when other family members are doing something online, there may be something worth trying if you have a router that supports QoS (Quality of Service).

Basically QoS should allow you to place STS related traffic at the front of the queue - hopefully ensuring a lag free STS experience. For more details try the following Google search; http://www.google.co.uk/#hl=en&q=router+qos

STS uses TCP ports 6654-6655 and UDP ports 6654-6655. An example of how this may be configured is shown below...

Image

Hope this proves useful!

_________________
Image


Last edited by Tkdandy on Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:39 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:41 pm
Posts: 1134
Location: Redcar
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
When i type my Default gateway into the search bar nothing happens now :/, any help ?

_________________
S6.5: Spartans 6.38 S7: Dragons 8.41 S8: Storm 7.71 2013 Pool Champion


Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:51 am
Posts: 3505
Location: Manchester UK
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
Browsing to your default gateway should normally open the router admin panel. If this isn't working for you it suggests you're typing the wrong IP address.
See my viewtopic.php?f=16&t=13927 post (section 1.1) for how to find out what the gateway is. If using wireless rather than a wired connection the information will be shown under something like "Wireless LAN Adapter" rather than "Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection".
If this still doesn't work you'll need to check your manual.

_________________
Image


Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:02 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:41 pm
Posts: 1134
Location: Redcar
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
Hi mate, i sorted it... i found that my Router settings were set to "public" which means you cannot access the Router Admin Panel.

_________________
S6.5: Spartans 6.38 S7: Dragons 8.41 S8: Storm 7.71 2013 Pool Champion


Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:05 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:41 pm
Posts: 1134
Location: Redcar
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
Also, on my Router Admin Panel, i do not have a section called Qos Setup :S, is there any other terms for this which may be on mine.

Image

_________________
S6.5: Spartans 6.38 S7: Dragons 8.41 S8: Storm 7.71 2013 Pool Champion


Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:13 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:51 am
Posts: 3505
Location: Manchester UK
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
Not as far as I know and not all routers support QoS.

I've had probably half a dozen different routers this last few years (many hardware failures), each router being fairly high-spec and pricey (£100-£200 each), but my current one might be the first to support it.

Looks like you're out of luck Shaun.

_________________
Image


Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:21 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:41 pm
Posts: 1134
Location: Redcar
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
I have this mate, is this similar ?

Image

_________________
S6.5: Spartans 6.38 S7: Dragons 8.41 S8: Storm 7.71 2013 Pool Champion


Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:51 am
Posts: 3505
Location: Manchester UK
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
No. That is all related to Port Forwarding. Google both terms to get an understanding of what each means - QoS is very different from Port Forwarding.

_________________
Image


Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:30 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:49 pm
Posts: 442
Post Re: Bit of router advice..
Looks like you might have a Virgin Superhub Shaun, in which case I don't think it has QoS.

_________________
Image


Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:27 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:48 pm
Posts: 552
Location: cambridgeshire
Post Re: TIP: QoS (Quality of Service) router setting...
any1 know how to set up a server using sky broadband?

_________________
Image
2 x League Champion (S8 and S9)


Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:18 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.